Denmark: DR confirms Eurovision 2022 participation

Denmark: DR confirms Eurovision 2022 participation
Thursday, 01 July 2021

  • The Danish national broadcaster, DR,  has confirmed that they will be participating in the 66th edition Eurovision Song Contest, next year in Italy. 

    DR has confirmed to ESCToday that the country will take part in Eurovision 2022 which will take place in Italy next May after Maneskin's from Italy this year in Rotterdam. This will mark Denmark's 50th appearance in the contest. 

    Denmark will probably select onces again its Eurovision hopeful through a national final and namely via its traditional music competition Dansk Melodi Grand Prix. Details on the next national selection will be released in the near future time. 


    Denmark in Eurovision

    Denmark made it first appearance in the Eurovision family in 1957 and has been crowned winner three times: In 1963 with Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann and the song Dansevise,  in 2000 with Olsen Brothers  and their entry  Fly on the wings of love and  in 2013 with Emmelie de Forest and her song Only teardrops. The country apart from hosting the Contest each year after its victories , has hosted the special show tribute to the 50th Eurovision anniversary in 2005.

    In 2018 Denmark was represent by Rasmussen who with Higher ground, finished in the 9th place of the Grand Final. In 2019 Leonora defended the Danish colors at the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv with Love is forever, finishing 12th in the Grand Final.

    In 2020 the duo Ben & Ten won Danish Melody Grand Prix 2020 and were off to rerpesent the nation with their song 'Yes". Unfortunately never had the chance to perform on Rotterdam Ahoy's Eurovision stage as the contest was cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic. 

    This year  the duo Fyr & Flamme won the national final with "Øve os på hinanden" - Denmark's first entry fully in Danish since 1997 - who represented the country in Rotterdam but failed to qualify for the final, finishing 11th in the second semi-final with 89 points.


    News Source: ESCToday

    Image: EBU/Andres Putting