Eurovision 2022: RAI's delegation meets EBU; New members join the Reference Group

Eurovision 2022: RAI's delegation meets with EBU; New members join the Reference Group
Wednesday, 23 June 2021

  • Preparations for Eurovision 2022 are in motion with the Italian Delegation metting with EBU for the first time after Rotterdam. 

    Italy's Head of Delegation Simona Martorelli along with RAI's team met with EBU in Geneva marking the start of preparations for next year's Eurovision Song Contest, which will take place in Italy after Maneskin's triumph in Rotterdam last month. 

    The Italian city that will have the honour to host the 66th edition of the contest is to be determined in the following weeks, with several cities queing up, expressing interest to host the event

    Ms.Simona Martorelli (Head of Delegation Italy/RAI) says:

    "There is a lot of enthusiasm around the Eurovision Song Contest in Italy. This victory is combined with a sentiment of rebirth that Italy really needs. We’re looking forward to working with the Reference Group on producing an incredible ESC in Italy in 2022.

    In the story of Eurovision, my favourite song is ABBA’s Waterloo and my favourite Italian entry is, of course, Maneskin’s Zitti E Buoni.

    Our first task is of course to find a great Host City over the summer for next year’s show."

    New members join the Reference Group

    After 18 months, due to the covid-19 pandemic, the Reference Group was able to meet in Geneva. Following the elections that took place earlier this year the Reference Group has been joint by four new members.

    The Reference Group is formed by the  Chairman, three members elected by the Heads of Delegation, two Executive Producers from previous host countries, as well as the Executive Producer of the current Host Broadcaster. The EBU’s Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor is also a member of the Reference Group.


    Namely the Group currently consists of the following members: 

    • Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling (ZDF – Germany) – Chairman
    • Mr. Martin Osterdahl – Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor
    • Mr. David Tserunyan (AMPTV – Armenia) – New elected member
    • Ms. Carla Bugalho (RTP – Portugal) – Eurovision 2018 Executive Producer
    • Mr. Felix Bergsson (RUV – Iceland) – New elected member
    • Sietse Bakker (NOS – Netherlands) – Repreenting Eurovision 2021 host broadcaster
    • Simona Martorelli (RAI – Italy) – New member as representative of Eurovision 2022 host broadcaster
    • Alexandra Redde (France Televisions – France) – New elected member
    • Mr. Yuval Cohen (KAN – Israel) – Representing the Eurovision 2019 host broadcaster
    • Ms. Astrid Dutrenit  (NOS/AVROTROS – Netherlands) – Representing the Eurovision 2021 host broadcaster


    Mr. Martin Ostendahl (Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor/EBU) says:

    "It’s great to finally be able to welcome the Reference Group to Geneva and meet in person for the first time in over 18 months.

    The handover between the previous and next year’s Host Broadcaster is always a special moment and even more so this year. We’ve reflected on three spectacular shows in Rotterdam and are excited to welcome the team from RAI onboard and already looking forward to what they will bring us in 2022."


    What is the Reference Group

    The Reference Group consists of committee of experts that acts on behalf all broadcasters that participate in the Eurovision Song Contest. It is the supervisor and oversees the whole organization while some of its duties are to oversee the financial aspect of each edition, the means of information and the whole preparations in collaboration with the host national broadcaster.The reference group meets 5-6 times a year to cover and decide on the running issues. 

    News Source: EBU/ ESCToday

    Image: EBU