The Netherlands: Junior Songfestival 2020 finalists unveiled

The Netherlands: Junior Songfestival 2020 finalists unveiled
Saturday, 23 May 2020

  • The Dutch national broadcaster, AVROTROS, has unveiled the acts that will compete in the final of Junior Songfestival 2020, the format The Netherlands are using to select their Junior Eurovision 2020 act. 

    AVROTROS, revealed the finalists of this year's Songfestival 2020, in which the contestants will battle to win the right to represent the country in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, set to take place next November in Warsaw, Poland. 




    The acts that will take part in the JESC 2020 national final are: 

    • Janae
    • Thimo 
    • Demy
    • Thijs
    • Jayda 
    • Tyrone
    • Robin
    • Teddy
    • Maud
    • Naomi 
    • Jackie

    Below follows the presentation video of the 11 finalists:

    The finalists will be organised in four acts, that could be either groups or duos or soloists. Each act will than prepare its entry for the final that will take place in September. The groups that will be formed will go public next week via the official Junior Songfestival Youtube channel. The winning act of the final will earn the right to represent Holland in the next Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Warsaw, on November 29. 


     The Netherlands in Junior Eurovision

    The Netherlands has been participating in the contest since day 1 in 2003 and haven’t missed a year. In 2009 they won the competition and have achieved nine times to finish in the top 10 places. The country’s worst place came in 2015 when it finished 15th. In 2019 the country was represented by the duo Max & Anne and their entry Samen, which finished in 13th place with 91 points.

    Last year, Matheu represented the nation in Gliwice with his song "Dans met jou" which finished in the 4th place with 186 points.