Portugal: The five Festival da Cançao 2021 Semi final 2 qualifiers; Final line up completed

Portugal: The five Festival da Cançao 2021 Semi final 2 qualifiers; Final line up completed
Sunday, 28 February 2021

  • The Portuguese Eurovision 2021 national selection,  Festival da Cançao 2021 , saw this evening  the second set of five finalists determined during the 2nd semi final show. 

    For one more year RTP has opted for the iconic Portuguese competition,  Festival da Canção, in order to select the country's Eurovision 2021 act. The Portuguese selection consists of three shows ( two semi-finals and a grand final).

    Tonight the second semi final took place with Tania Ribas De Oliveira  and Sónia Araujo hosting this second heat of the competition.  During the show Lúcia Moniz who represented Portugal at the Eurovision Song Contest 1996 will feature the show as an interval act.

    A total of 10 acts competed in the 2nd semi final heat in the following running order (You can watch their performances by clicking on song titles) :

    1. Da Chick - "I Got Music"  (Da Chick)
    2. Tainá - "Jasmim"  (Tainá)
    3. Ariana - "Mundo Melhor"  (Virgul)
    4. Eu.Clides - "Volte-Face"  (Pedro da Linha)
    5. Joana Alegre - "Joana Do Mar"  (Joana Alegre)
    6. Pedro Gonçalves - "Não Vou Ficar"  (Pedro Gonçalves)
    7. Ana Tereza - "Com Um Abraço"  (Viviane)
    8. Carolina Deslandes - "Por Um Triz"  (Carolina Deslandes)
    9. Graciela - "A Vida Sem Acontecer"  (João Vieira)
    10. NEEV - "Dancing In The Stars"  (Neev)


    Unlike the previous editions, instead of 16 acts, in 2021 the competition has the participation of 20 composers: 18 have been invited directly RTP and 2 selected out of a public submission. This means that five acts from each semi final will advance to the grand final show. 

    The outcome of tonight's show was determined by public and jury voting. The jury consisted of the following members: 

    • Maria Carvalho – Winner Composer of Festival da Canção 2020
    • NBC – Festival da Canção 2019 runner up
    • Paulo de Carvalho – Portuguese Eurovision 1974 act
    • Rita Carmo – Photographer
    • Rita Guerra – Portuguese Eurovision 2003 act
    • Vanessa Augusto – T.V presenter


    The Five Semi final 2  qualifiers

    The five acts that won the ticket to the final of the Portuguese selection are: 

    1. Eu.Clides – Volte-Face
    2. Joana Alegre – Joana Do Mar
    3. Pedro Gonçalves – Não Vou Ficar
    4. Carolina Deslandes – Por Um Triz  
    5. NEEV – Dancing In The Stars


    Therefore the line up for Festival da Canção 2021 national final has developed as following: 

    • The Black Mamba - "Love Is On My Side"  
    • Valéria - "Na Mais Profunda Saudade"  
    • Fábia Maia - "Dia Lindo"  
    • Karetus & Romeu Bairos - "Saudade"
    • Sara Afonso - "Contramão"
    • Eu.Clides – Volte-Face
    • Joana Alegre – Joana Do Mar
    • Pedro Gonçalves – Não Vou Ficar
    • Carolina Deslandes – Por Um Triz  \
    • NEEV – Dancing In The Stars


    Next week’s show will be hosted by Filomena Cautela & Vasco Palmeirim. Once again, Inês Lopes Gonçalves will be hosting from the green room.


    Source: RTP