EBU: The 2021 TV Assembly elects the new TV Committee

EBU: The 2021 TV Assembly elects the new TV Committee
Thursday, 22 April 2021

  • During its annual TV Assembly, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) elected this week the new TV Committee for the next two year's term. 

    The EBU hosted the 27th TV Assembly on April 21 but due to the covid-19 pandemic it was held virtually. The Assembly determined the members of the TV Committee for the next two years. 

    The EBU's TV Committee, elected during the TV Assembly, oversees the operations of the EBU's TV services and assists in steering the operational and strategic direction. The Chairman and President are nominated by the TV Committee.

    President of the committee remained SVT’s Head of Content Strategy Markus Sterky who will have four Vice Presidents contributing to his work. Namely , Ana Maria Bordas (TVE/Spain) , Dermot Horan (RTE/Ireland)Ekaterina Orlova (RTR /Russia) Natalija Gorscak (RTVSLO/Slovenia) , with all of them re elected as members and the last two been promoted to this position. 

    In addition the rest of the members elected in the Committee are: 

    • Matt Travers (BBC/ UK) 
    • Faruk Güven (TRT/Turkey) 
    • Bakel Walden (SRG,/Switzerland)
    • Frank- Dieter Freiling (ZDF/ Germany)
    • Maria Koufopoulo ( ERT/ Greece)
    • Marek Solon_Lipinski (TVP/ Poland)
    • Manuel Alduy (France Televisions/ France)
    • Gaello Armentano (RAI/Italy)

    Some of the members are no strangers to the Eurovision family as they served over the years as Head of Delegation in their countries. Ana Maria Bordas (TVE) and Ekaterina Orlova (RTR) have been Head of Delegations in Spain and Russia respectively, while the previous Greek Head of Delegation, Maria Koufopoulou is new on board being elected for the first time.


    maria koufopoulou - OGAE Greece

                       Former Greek Head of Delegation, Maria Koufopoulou is one of the new faces on the TV Committee


    The TV Committee's role

    The TV Committee monitors the progress of events like the Eurovision Song Contest, approves the strategy of the television services and controls the television development fund. Moreover they help establish standards and procedures. The committee meets 4 times throughout the year, with remaining business conducted electronically. Since 2013 the TV Committee also has held joint meetings with the Radio Committee and the Digital Steering Committee. 


    News Source/cover photo: EBU