Eurovision 2022: Which countries will participate in the 66th edition of the contest

Eurovision 2022: Which countries will participate in the 66th edition of the contest
Sunday, 04 July 2021

  • As the host city bidding process in Italy is underway and the dates are yet to be determined, national broadcasters across the continent are progressively revealing their plans for the next edition of the Eurovision Song Contest 2022. 

    The Eurovision Song Contest 2022 is set to be the 66th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place in Italy, following the country's victory at the 2021 contest with the song "Zitti e buoni" by Måneskin. It will be the third time that Italy hosts the contest, having previously done so for the 1965 and 1991 contests, held in Naples and Rome respectively.

    Up to date a total of 15 nations have officially confirmed their participation in Eurovision 2022 through statements of broadcasters' officials. Already before the 2021 contest Germany and Israel announced that they were kicking off preparations for 2022 while San Marino followed confirming a national final for next year's contest. Serbia has confirmed the return of Beovizija for the next contest. Finland, France, Norway and Sweden  have launched their national selection preparations,  while Malta has confirmed that it will switch to a seperate national final for Eurovision 2022. The latest country to join the list of particpating country has been Denmark. 



    The confirmed countries

    1. Germany
    2. Israel
    3. Switzerland 
    4. San Marino
    5. Italy (Host Country)
    6. Serbia
    7. Finland 
    8. France
    9. The Netherlands
    10. Norway 
    11. Australia
    12. Sweden 
    13. Ukraine
    14. Malta
    15. Denmark 


    Countries without decision yet

    1. Albania
    2. Azerbaijan
    3. Austria
    4. Belgium
    5. Bulgaria
    6. Croatia
    7. Cyprus
    8. Czech Republic
    9. Estonia
    10. Greece
    11. Iceland
    12. Ireland
    13. Latvia
    14. Lithuania
    15. Moldova
    16. North Macedonia
    17. Poland
    18. Portugal
    19. Romania
    20. Russia
    21. Slovenia
    22. Spain
    23. United Kingdom


    Non-returning countries 

    A number of countries have already confirmed their intention not to return to the Eurovision Song Contest in 2022, sticking with their decision of the recent years.

    In addtion to this main group of non returning countries we must add seperately the case of Belarus.  In addtion to the list of non-returning countries is included Belarus which following their Eurovision 2021 disqualification as their song did not comply with the EBU rules, don't have anymore the right to participate in the contest as BTRC's EBU membership has been suspended. Non EBU members are not eligible to take part in the contest. 




    Meanwhile a number of countries that have participated in the past but have been absent for several or the recent years haven’t yet confirmed a possible return or not. In this group we must outline Armenia who withdraw only in 2021 due to the conflict in the Nagorno Karabakh (Artsakh) zone and is closer to a potential return to the competition in 2022. The same case stands for Turkey as in June 2021, it has been confirmed by both the EBU and Ibrahim Eren, the Director-General of Turkish national broadcaster  (TRT), that they were in talks about the country potentially returning to the contest in 2022. 

    • Armenia 
    • Montenegro
    • Hungary
    • Bosnia & Herzegovina
    • Monaco
    • Luxembourg
    • Turkey
    • Morocco

    The deadline for countries to apply for participation for Eurovision 2022 concludes in mid September, whilst the  countries have a period until mid October to withdraw their application without a penalty.

    Therefore, we will have to wait for a few months in order to find out which countries will eventually join the party in Italy. As the new Eurovision season is approaching (September 1, 2021) and the deadlines are getting close more and more countries will be revealing their plans regarding the Eurovision Song Contest and the puzzle of the confirmed countries will start to picture the number and which national we will see in Italy next year.